The walk, the talk, the news, the reviews - Broadway's stop on the Internet.
Site  Search


Find shows by:

Run  for  the  Roses

Here are the shows currently topping the lists in Review Broadway's Run for the Roses!

Highest Average

Most Roses

Recent  Reviews

Our staff is hard at work considering current theatrical offerings and composing their thoughts. Check back soon for honest reactions, sharp analyses and strong opinions the way only Review Broadway can offer them!

Recent  Comments

The most recent comments posted by registered members.

On  Broadway


Broadway 2009
Eugene O'Neill Theatre

Music by Fela Anikulapo-Kuti, Aaron Johnson & Jordan McLean
Lyrics by Fela Anikulapo-Kuti & Jim Lewis
Book by Jim Lewis & Bill T. Jones
Produced by Shawn "Jay-Z" Carter, Willi & Jada Pinkett Smith, Ruth and Stephen Hendel, Roy Gabay, Edward Tyler Nahem, Slava Smolokowski, Chip Meyrelles/Ken Greiner, Susan Dietz/Margaret Selby, Steve Semlitz/Cathy Glaser, Daryl Roth/True Love Productions
Directed by Bill T. Jones

Previews started: October 19, 2009
Show opened: November 29, 2009
Show closed: January 2, 2011

Average Roses Awarded:    1 Rose2 Roses3 Roses4 Roses5 Roses6 Roses7 Roses

Average Roses Awarded by Our Members:    1 Rose2 Roses3 Roses4 Roses5 Roses6 Roses7 Roses

About the show

Journey to the Shrine, Fela Anikulapo-Kuti's night club in Lagos, Nigeria in the late 1970's. Based on the life of Fela Anikulapo-Kuti. Listen to Fela's Afrobeat, and hear Fela's search for the true African style and his story of struggle for his people in person and through music.

Fela Anikulapo-Kuti  Kevin Mambo, Sahr Ngaujah
Funmilayo Anikulapo-Kuti  Lillias White, Patti LaBelle
Sandra Isadore Saycon Sengbloh
Ismael, Geraldo Pino, Orisha, Enemble Ismael Kouyate
J.K. Braimah (Tap Dancer), Egungun, Ensemble Gelan Lambert
Corey Baker, Hettie Vyrine Barnhill, Lauren De Veaux, Nicole Chantal De Weever, Elasea Douglas, Rujeko Dumbutshena, Catherine Foster, Talu Green, Abena Koomson, Shaneeka Harrell, Chanon Judson, Galen Lambert, Shakira Marshall, Ismael Kouyate, Farai Malianga, Afi McClendon, Adesola Osakalumi, Jeffrey Page, Oneika Phillips, Daniel Soto, Ryan H. Rankine, Justin Prescott, Iris Wilson, Aimee Graham Wodobode.

Production Credits
Conception: Bill T. Jones, Jim Lewis & Stephen Hendel
Scenic & Costume Design: Marina Draghici
Lighting Design: Robert Wierzel
Sound Designer: Robert Kaplowitz
Projection Designer: Peter Nigrini
Choreographer: Bill T. Jones


©2009 by Broadway Hype, LLC. All rights reserved.   Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | Help | Feedback
Web design & development by semper bufo.